‘Wash Post’ Video Journalist Travis Fox Named WHNPA’s ‘Editor of the Year’

Follow by Email
Visit Us

By: E&P Staff

Travis Fox, the 30-year-old video journalist with the Washington Post, has won the “Editor of the Year” award from the White House News Photographers Association (WHNPA). ITN photographer Dai Baker has won the organization’s “Photographer of the Year” award.

Fox previously won the award in 2002 and 2003, and took home the Photographer of the Year award in 2002. “As journalists, we hope to make a connection between our readers and the people on whom we report,” Fox said in a statement. “These awards will hopefully bring more attention to the people and issues I tried to illustrate last year, whether it is an authoritarian regime in Azerbaijan or the victims of Hurricane Katrina.”

Fox recently spent more than two weeks in Indonesia producing several five-minute documentaries on the survivors of last year’s Indian Ocean tsunami. He also covered Hurricane Katrina and Rosa Parks’ funeral.

Fox’s video productions have helped extend the washingtonpost.com brand to TV, where they’ve appeared on PBS shows “Frontline” and Fareed Zakaria’s “Foreign Exchange.” His most recent work can be viewed as a video podcast through Apple’s iTunes or at www.travisfox.com.

Baker, who has worked for ITN for 12 years, also won “Photographer of the Year” in 2005. Last year he produced several pieces on Hurricane Katrina. “I am especially proud of the fact that people assumed I had a lot of time to film these pieces, but in fact we only ever have one or two days at the most,” said Baker. WHNPA video judge Tim Wall of CNN in Atlanta said, “There was nothing but excellence in every aspect of his work.” Ali Ghanbari, a WHNPA judge from WJW-TV in Cleveland, said, “Baker has a great eye, from framing to punctuation to working with his reporter.”

The judges for the video photography contest were Elaine Fisher of WTXF-TV in Philadelphia, Ali Ghanbari of WJW-TV in Cleveland and Tim Wall of CNN in Atlanta. The judges for the video editing contest were Jeff Chase of CNN in Atlanta, Merry Murray of KSNW-TV in Wichita, Kansas, and Jeramy Rosenberg of KMGH-TV in Denver.

The top winners of the still and television contests will be honored at the annual “Eyes of History” Gala on May 6, 2006, at the Ritz-Carlton Hotel in Washington.

The WHNPA’s still photography competition will be judged on Jan. 28-29, 2006, at the Corcoran Gallery of Art + Design in Washington, D.C. The judging is open to the public, and the WHNPA encourages students, professionals and anyone interested in photography to attend.

For further information about The Eyes of History and to view the winning images and videos, visit the WHNPA web site at www.whnpa.org.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *