Winners of Wilbur Awards for Secular Religion Journalism Announced

By: E&P Staff

Several newspapers are among the winners of 2007 Wilbur Awards for “outstanding work in the secular media that addresses religious issues, themes, and values.”

The prizes will be presented by the Religion Communicators Council at an April 28 ceremony in Louisville, Ky. Winners include:

— Newspapers (national/series): The Associated Press for “The New Missionaries” series by Brian Murphy and Rachel Zoll.

— Newspapers (national/section): The Dallas Morning News for its religion editor, Bruce Tomaso.

— Newspapers (other markets): The Lancaster (Pa.) New Era for “Lost Angels: The Amish School Shootings.” Those involved included New Era editor Ernest Schreiber; writers Jack Brubaker, Ad Crable, Janet Kelley, Tom Murse, and Cindy Stauffer; photographers Andrew Blackburn, Marty Heisey, and Richard Hertzler; and graphic artist Chris Emlet.

— Editorial cartoons/comic strips: John Sherffius of the Boulder (Colo.) Daily Camera and Copley News Service.

Follow by Email
Visit Us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *