Obituaries
91 results total, viewing 81 - 91
Paul Betit, a former longtime Portland Press Herald sports writer and published author, died Monday. He was 73.Betit’s son, C.J. Betit, said his father died Monday morning at MaineGeneral … more
Ronald “Ron” James Lewis, 83, manager of the former Belle Banner, Bland Courier and Maries County Gazette, died Oct. 13 following a slow recovery from two heart surgeries. Local friends … more
The much-loved and respected Australian broadcaster Paul Murphy has died aged 77.Murphy, known for ABC programs This Day Tonight, PM, AM and Nationwide, and SBS’s Dateline, was remembered … more
Sid Hartman was, for all of his 100-plus years, a hometown guy.Born on the North Side of Minneapolis on March 15, 1920, he worked for newspapers in his hometown for nearly his entire life, until his … more
Dan Baum, a onetime reporter for the Wall Street Journal and the New Yorker magazine whose in-depth books examined the Coors brewing family, gun ownership in America and the intertwined lives of New … more
Donald MacGillis, a former Boston Globe editorial writer and an ardent lover of the outdoors, died Wednesday after a 50-foot fall while hiking Maine’s Mount Katahdin, a mountain he loved and … more
Monica Roberts, a trailblazing transgender activist and journalist who documented the violence against her community long before it gained mainstream attention, died earlier this week. She was … more
Jim Dwyer, a Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter, columnist and author whose stylish journalism captured the human dramas of New York City for readers of New York Newsday, The Daily News and The New York … more
Former Advocate editor and publisher Daniel Shaw died unexpectedly last month at 68, according to an obituary from Michigan, where he lived.Shaw was the editor of The Advocate from November 1996 to … more
Sir Harold Evans, the charismatic publisher, author and muckraker who brought investigative moxie to the British press, newsmaking dash to the American book business through best-sellers like … more
The first Stars and Stripes reporter sent to cover the Vietnam War — Marine Gunnery Sgt. Steve Stibbens — died Saturday in Dallas at age 84.Stibbens got his start in journalism at age 12 … more
« Prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5
Currently viewing stories posted within the past year.
For all older stories, please use our advanced search.