Obituaries
138 results total, viewing 1 - 20
David Holwerk, whose ability to make good judgments and quick decisions as editorial-page editor of the Lexington Herald-Leader led to three finalists and one winner of the Pulitzer Prize for the … more
Seymour Topping, who chronicled the rise of China and the Cold War in Europe and Asia as a correspondent, shaped the crowning years of print journalism as an editor of The New York Times, and led the … more
Joan Bingham, widow of the scion of Louisville's Bingham family communications empire and a major force for nearly 50 years in the book publishing world, died Saturday in New York City, where she … more
Paul Betit, a former longtime Portland Press Herald sports writer and published author, died Monday. He was 73.Betit’s son, C.J. Betit, said his father died Monday morning at MaineGeneral … more
Ronald “Ron” James Lewis, 83, manager of the former Belle Banner, Bland Courier and Maries County Gazette, died Oct. 13 following a slow recovery from two heart surgeries. Local friends … more
The much-loved and respected Australian broadcaster Paul Murphy has died aged 77.Murphy, known for ABC programs This Day Tonight, PM, AM and Nationwide, and SBS’s Dateline, was remembered … more
Sid Hartman was, for all of his 100-plus years, a hometown guy.Born on the North Side of Minneapolis on March 15, 1920, he worked for newspapers in his hometown for nearly his entire life, until his … more
Dan Baum, a onetime reporter for the Wall Street Journal and the New Yorker magazine whose in-depth books examined the Coors brewing family, gun ownership in America and the intertwined lives of New … more
Donald MacGillis, a former Boston Globe editorial writer and an ardent lover of the outdoors, died Wednesday after a 50-foot fall while hiking Maine’s Mount Katahdin, a mountain he loved and … more
Monica Roberts, a trailblazing transgender activist and journalist who documented the violence against her community long before it gained mainstream attention, died earlier this week. She was … more
Jim Dwyer, a Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter, columnist and author whose stylish journalism captured the human dramas of New York City for readers of New York Newsday, The Daily News and The New York … more
Former Advocate editor and publisher Daniel Shaw died unexpectedly last month at 68, according to an obituary from Michigan, where he lived.Shaw was the editor of The Advocate from November 1996 to … more
Sir Harold Evans, the charismatic publisher, author and muckraker who brought investigative moxie to the British press, newsmaking dash to the American book business through best-sellers like … more
The first Stars and Stripes reporter sent to cover the Vietnam War — Marine Gunnery Sgt. Steve Stibbens — died Saturday in Dallas at age 84.Stibbens got his start in journalism at age 12 … more
Bruce Eggler, a New Orleans journalist who over a half-century career covered subjects ranging from grand opera to media criticism to the minutiae of city government, died Wednesday in his apartment … more
Julia Reed, a Mississippi native who wrote about presidential politics and fashion for Vogue before emerging as an irreverent and stylish chronicler of Southern life and food, died Aug. 28 at a … more
Longtime media journalist and Variety alumnus Morrie Gelman died of heart failure on Aug. 26 in Palm Desert, Calif. He was 90.Gelman was a Variety staffer from 1977 to 1992.Born Morris Gelman in … more
A Chicago Tribune correspondent who was based in Washington, D.C., for more than 30 years, William R. Neikirk was an expert at explaining economics and complex financial issues to readers.Neikirk, … more
Joseph Mark Puglia, a newspaperman and public relations executive, died Aug. 21 of Parkinson’s disease at St. Margaret’s at Mercy Nursing Home. He was 75.A New Orleans native, he was a … more
Gail Sheehy, a journalist who plumbed the interior lives of public figures for clues to their behavior and examined societal trends as signposts of cultural change, died on Monday at a hospital in … more
1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 Next »
Currently viewing stories posted within the past 730 days.
For all older stories, please use our advanced search.