Columbia University announced the winners of the 1999 Maria Moors Cabot Prizes for reporting on Latin America. The three journalists honored this year are Juan Tamayo, Latin America correspondent for The Miami Herald; Jorge Zepeda Patterson, editor in chief and founder of Publico, a daily in Guadalajara, Mexico; and Linda Robinson, Latin America bureau chief for U.S. News & World Report. Special citations were given to James McClatchy, publisher of the McClatchy Newspapers, and Raul Rivero, founder and president of Cuba Press, an independent news agency in Havana.

By: Jamie Santo

Thirty journalists from various media were honored as 1999 National Press Club Journalism Award winners. Honorees in the newspaper field include The Seattle Times’ James V. Grimaldi, who won the Washington (D.C.) Correspondence Award and the Robin Goldstein Award for Washington Regional Reporting; the Los Angeles Times’ David Willman, who won the Consumer Journalism Award for his story, “”Rezulin: A Billion-Dollar Killer””; and The Seattle Times’ Jim Simon, Deborah Nelson, Eric Nadler, and Danny Westneat, who won the Robert L. Kozik Award for Environmental Reporting for their story, “”Trading Away the West.””
?(Editor & Publisher Web [Caption]
?(copyright: Editor & Publisher July 10, 1999) [Caption]

Follow by Email
Visit Us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *