CPJ Appoints New Board Members


New York–The Committee to Protect Journalists has named John Carroll, Arianna Huffington, Jonathan Klein, Mhamed Krichen and Jacob Weisberg to its board of directors.  

Carroll has been editor of the Los Angeles Times, Baltimore Sun, and the Lexington Herald-Leader. Carroll began his career in 1963 as a reporter for the Providence Journal-Bulletin. After serving in the Army, he joined the Baltimore Sun as a local reporter and later became the Sun‘s correspondent in Vietnam, the Middle East, and Washington. He has been a Nieman Fellow at Harvard University and a Knight Visiting Lecturer at the Shorenstein Center of Harvard’s Kennedy School of Government.  

Huffington is president and editor-in-chief of AOL Huffington Post Media Group, a nationally syndicated columnist, and author of 13 books. In 2005, she launched The Huffington Post, a news and blog site that quickly became one of the most widely read and cited online media brands.  

Klein, co-founder and chief operating officer of Getty Images, launched the company in 1995 and has served as chief executive since its inception. Under his direction, Getty Images has become a leading creator and distributor of imagery, footage, music, and digital media worldwide. In addition to acquiring and integrating more than 100 image libraries and companies worldwide, Klein led Getty Images’ drive into editorial imagery, making it a global leader.    

Krichen is a Doha-based anchor and program host for Al-Jazeera. Having joined the news channel at its inception in 1996, he was a member of Al-Jazeera’s editorial board from 2004 to 2010, and has run training courses for Al-Jazeera Training and Media Development Centre since its establishment in 2004. For the last decade, he has been a weekly political columnist with the London-based Al-Quds al-Arabi.  

Weisberg is chairman of The Slate Group, a unit of The Washington Post Company devoted to developing a family of Internet-based publications through start-ups and acquisitions. His regular opinion column is published by Slate, where he previously served as editor. He has worked in various capacities for The New Republic, New York Magazine, The New York Times Magazine, Vanity Fair, Newsweek and the Financial Times.  

The newly-elected board members will serve five-year terms. Paul Steiger, editor-in-chief and CEO of ProPublica, whose term as CPJ chairman ended in June, will join the organization’s advisory board. Anchors Dan Rather and David Marash, whose CPJ board membership dates to 1981 and 1982 respectively, have also moved to the advisory board.

Follow by Email
Visit Us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *