Gordon Borrell Elected Chairman of the Local Media Association’s Board of Directors

Follow by Email
Visit Us

Gordon Borrell was elected chairman of the Local Media Association’s board of directors during the annual business meeting in Denver on October 1. He succeeds Cliff Richner, publisher of Richner Communications, whose one-year term ended September 30.


Borrell is the CEO of Borrell Associates, a research and consulting firm that tracks and forecasts local media advertising spending. It serves more than 1,300 companies across North America and the U.K. through its data products, at adspending.com.


Local Media Association President Nancy Lane said, “Since joining the board in 2010, Gordon Borrell has been a game changer. He challenges the board, staff and membership to think bigger and bolder. His leadership has been outstanding and I can’t wait to see what we accomplish during his year as chairman. I’m also thrilled to welcome him as the first R&D partner to lead our organization. This demonstrates our commitment to this segment of our membership base in a very vibrant way. I’m proud that LMA is leading this charge. We need the best minds in the business on our boards and executive committees. And Gordon fits that bill big time.”


Borrell commented, “I’m honored to accept this role within such a dynamic, ambitious organization as LMA. We’re at critical time in the history of media, one of great transformation. I’m eager to help the association develop an even more aggressive approach toward becoming both a beacon and a touchstone for all media companies.”


LMA members also elected the officers and directors for the association including Suzanne Schlicht, First Vice Chairwoman, The World Co./World West, LLC; Matt Coen, Second Vice Chairman, Second Street, Inc.; Mark Poss, Treasurer, Big Fish Works; Bob Brown, Secretary, Swift Communications and Cliff Richner, Immediate Past Chairman, Richner Communications. Returning board directors include Kevin Kampman, Winston-Salem Journal/BH Media Group; Terry Kukle, Metroland Media Group; Chris Lee, Deseret Digital Media; Peter Newton, GateHouse Ventures and Propel Marketing; Chris Hendricks, The McClatchy Co.; Stephen Pope, 1013 Communications and Chris Edwards, The Gazette Company. Four new directors joined the board – Myra Cortado, Calkins Media; Eric Johnston, Pioneer News Group; Kerry Oslund, Schurz Communications and J. Tom Shaw, Shaw Media.


In addition, Borrell will join the Local Media Foundation board as treasurer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *