Iranian editor Faraj Sarkuhi was awarded the Golden Pen of Freedom by the World Association of Newspapers. Sarkuhi, the former editor in chief of the banned monthly magazine Adineh, was imprisoned both before and after Iran’s Islamic revolution in 1979. Adineh, which contained social criticism popular among intellectuals, had its license revoked last February. Sarkuhi went into exile in Germany last year. In recent months, Iran’s judiciary has shut down six publications and arrested six journalists for allegedly publishing lies.

By: Jamie Santo

The Newspaper Association of America’s Research Award was presented posthumously to the late Thomas J. Holbein, executive and chairman of Belden Associates, Dallas. Holbein, who died of a heart attack last Oct. 10, spent 30 years working in newspaper research. When he joined Belden in 1968, he was a pioneer and constant innovator in this research. Holbien, who authored hundreds of research reports and a number
of published newspaper monographs, worked with more than 50 newspapers throughout his career.

The University of Michigan named 12 Michigan Journalism Fellows for the 1999-2000 academic year. The U.S. fellows are: John Fountain, Danny Gur-arieh, John Henrikson, Joseph Mallia, Micheline Maynard, Maureen O’ Hagan, Diane Rado, Monte Reel, James Rupert II, Larry Siddons, Elizabeth Stawicki, and Catherine Vojdik. This group is the 27th to be offered fellowships by the university.
?(Editor & Publisher Web [Caption]

Follow by Email
Visit Us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *