Kevin Beatty Elected Second Vice President of the World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers

Kevin Beatty, CEO of dmg media, was elected second vice president of the World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers (WAN-IFRA) and is second in line of succession to President Tomas Brunegård, following New York Times vice chairman, Michael Golden.

Beatty was elected by WAN-IFRA members on Sunday during the General Assembly of Members held alongside the organization’s World News Media Congress, World Editors Forum and World Advertising Forum in Cartagena, Colombia.  700 participants, publishers, editors and other senior news executives from around the world are attending the events, which continues through Tuesday. The conferences can be followed on the congress blog and on Twitter, #wnc16 #editors16.

At the same meeting, eight executives from leading news media companies were elected to new terms on the Board of WAN-IFRA.

Beatty was appointed to the Board of DMGT plc in 2004, and has been with the group since 1996. During the past 20 years, his roles within the group have included: managing director of The Mail on Sunday; managing director of the Evening Standard and London Metro; COO of Associated New Media; and managing director of Northcliffe Newspapers. Previously, he was managing director of the Scottish Daily Record and Sunday Mail Ltd.

dmg media is the consumer media operation of DMGT plc, which publishes the Daily Mail, The Mail on Sunday, Metro, Mail Online, Mail Plus, Metro digital editions and Elite Daily. Beatty is a board member of the NMA and has been on the Board and the Executive Committee of WAN-IFRA since 2009, representing the UK publishing industry. Recently he was appointed Chairman of the RFC, the body that funds IPSO (Independent Press Standards Organisation)

The new Board members are:

Rolf Dyrnes Svendsen, editor, Adresseavisen, representing WAN-IFRA’s Global Alliance for Media Innovation, Norway

Petru Macovei, representing Asociaţia Presei Independente (Association of Independent Press), Moldova

Francisco Javier Moll de Miguel, president, Editorial Prensa Ibérica, Spain

Carlo Perrone, vice president, Itedi, representing the European Newspaper Publishers’ Association, Italy

Daniel Van Wylick, groupe chief editorial officer, Groupe Rossel, representing, Belgium

Mari Velsand, executive vice president, Amedia, representing Norwegian Media Businesses’ Associaton (MBL), Norway

Fernando de Yarza López-Madrazo, board member, Grupo Heraldo de Aragon, representing News Media Europe, Spain

Follow by Email
Visit Us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *