NAA Elects New Officers and Board Members

By: Press Release

Dallas – Michael E. Reed, president and CEO of Gatehouse Media Incorporated, has been elected Chairman of the Newspaper Association of America’s. The gavel was passed to Reed from last year’s chairman, Mark G. Contreras, senior vice president/newspapers of the E.W. Scripps Company, during NAA’s mediaXchange conference held here March 25-28. Contreras will continue to serve on the NAA Board of Directors as immediate past chairman.

Reed has served on the NAA Board of Directors since May 2001. He became chief executive officer of GateHouse Media Inc. in February 2006. Reed was formerly the president and chief executive officer of Community Newspaper Holdings Inc. and had served in that capacity since 1999, and served as CNHI’s chief financial officer from 1997 to 1999.

Prior to that, Reed worked for Park Communications Inc., a multimedia company, located in Ithaca, N.Y. He currently serves on the board of directors for the Associated Press and is also the chairman of the Audit Committee for the AP. Reed is currently a member of the Board of Visitors of the University of Alabama’s College of Communication and Information Sciences, and a member of the Grady College Journalism School’s Board of Advisors.

Other officers elected were: James Moroney, publisher and chief executive officer of The Dallas Morning News as vice chairman; Robert Nutting, president and chief executive officer of The Ogden Newspapers as secretary; and Robert Dickey, president of Gannett US Community Publishing as treasurer.

Board of Directors who have been nominated for an additional two year term are: Rosanne Cheeseman, The Erie Times-News; Maria Eugenia Ferre Rangel, El Nuevo Dia; Michael Golden, The New York Times Regional Media Group; Mark Newhouse, Advance Publications, Inc.; David Paxton, Paxton Media Group, LLC; Charles Pittman, Schurz Communications Inc.; Douglas Ray, The Daily Herald; and Michael Romaner, Morris Communications Co., LLC.
Members elected to seats on the Board of Directors are: Michael Abernathy, Landmark Publishing Group; Tony Hunter, Chicago Tribune; Michael Fiorile, The Columbus Dispatch; Clark Gilbert, The Deseret Morning News; Mark Jackson, Dow Jones & Company; Mary Junck, Lee Enterprises; Michael Klingensmith, Minneapolis Star Tribune; Gregory Osberg, Philadelphia Media Network; John Paton, Journal Register; and Steven Swartz, Hearst Newspapers.

NAA Welcomes New Board Appointments

NAA welcomes the following new appointments who joined the Board of Directors at mediaXchange:

Michael Fiorile
Michael Fiorile became president and chief operating officer of The Columbus Dispatch in January 2008. He has been president of The Dispatch Printing Company since January 2005. Fiorile joined the company in 1994 as president and CEO of The Dispatch Broadcast Group, overseeing all television, radio and cable operations, including WBNS-TV and the Ohio News Network, WTHR-TV and SkyTrak Weather in Indianapolis, WBNS-AM/FM radio stations and Radio Sound Network.
Since 2003, Fiorile has overseen all sales operations for The Dispatch Printing Company and its media affiliates.

Clark Gilbert
Clark Gilbert is the president and CEO of the Deseret News Publishing Company and Deseret Digital Media. The Deseret News is Utah’s longest running business and one of the nation’s fastest growing newspapers, both in print and online. Deseret Digital is one of the largest targeted media networks in the country. It manages the commercial Web properties of the Deseret Media Companies:,,, and
Prior to DDM, Gilbert was an associate academic vice president at Brigham Young University-Idaho, where he oversaw the university’s online learning and distance education initiatives. He was also a professor of entrepreneurial management at the Harvard Business School, where he published numerous award-winning articles on media innovation.

Michael Klingensmith
Michael J. Klingensmith is publisher and CEO of Star Tribune Media Company LLC with overall responsibility for all news and business operations of the company. Klingensmith, a native of the Twin Cities, joined the Star Tribune in January 2010 after spending most of his more than 30-year career in publishing with Time Inc. in New York City.
Within Time, Inc., Klingensmith held various management positions, including general manager of Time Magazine and CFO of Time Inc. He was the co-developer of the concept for Entertainment Weekly and became its founding publisher in 1989, leading the magazine through its launch and emergence as one of the company’s most profitable titles.
In 1998, he was named president of Sports Illustrated, where he helped establish the highly profitable online business. In 2001, he became executive vice president at Time Inc. He left the company in 2008 and was a managing director of AdMedia Partners, a New York mergers and acquisition advisory firm, prior to joining the Star Tribune.

Steven Swartz
Steven R. Swartz is president of Hearst Newspapers, the operating group responsible for Hearst’s newspapers and yellow pages businesses. Swartz is also a senior vice president of Hearst Corporation and a member of the Board of Directors. The company, with more than 6,500 employees across the nation, publishes 15 dailies and 38 weeklies in cities including Houston, San Francisco, San Antonio and Albany.

Swartz was executive vice president of the Group from 2001 to 2008. Under his leadership, Hearst played a key role in founding the newspaper industry’s consortium with Yahoo!; launched the industry’s partnership with the online real estate company Zillow; and formed quadrantONE, a national online sales network co-owned by Hearst, The New York Times Company, Gannett and Tribune. Swartz also led Hearst’s acquisition of a majority stake in Metrix4Media, a Frisco, Texas-based search engine marketing company.

Before joining Hearst in 2001, Swartz was president and chief executive of SmartMoney, the magazine, website and custom publishing business launched by Hearst and News Corp.’s Dow Jones unit. Prior to becoming CEO in 1995, Swartz had been the magazine’s founding editor since 1991. Under his leadership, SmartMoney magazine won two National Magazine Awards and was Advertising Age’s Magazine of the Year.

NAA is a nonprofit organization representing nearly 2,000 newspapers and their multiplatform businesses in the U.S. and Canada. NAA members include daily newspapers, as well as non-dailies, other print publications and online products. Headquartered near Washington, D.C., in Arlington, Va., the Association focuses on the major issues that affect today’s newspaper industry: public policy/legal matters, advertising revenue growth and audience development across the medium’s broad portfolio of products and digital platforms. Information about NAA and the industry also may be found at

Follow by Email
Visit Us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *