Newspaper Association Managers, Inc. Elect New President


H. Dean Ridings, president and chief executive officer of the Florida Press Association, has been elected president of Newspaper Association Managers, Inc. for the 2012-13 fiscal year. He succeeds Doug Anstaett of the Kansas Press Association, who becomes immediate past president.

Ridings is the second Floridian since NAM was founded in 1923 to serve as president.  John Paul Jones, a long time NAM stalwart, was president in 1965. Ridings joined Florida Press as manager of its media-agency subsidiary in 1997 and has served as president and CEO of the association since 2000.  The FPA is located in Tallahassee and the agency is in Orlando.

Before joining FPA, he was the publisher of several newspapers in Missouri, North Carolina, Tennessee and Florida.  His leadership activities include serving as treasurer of Leadership Florida, and as trustee of Florida Tax Watch, the First Amendment Foundation and the Florida House on Capitol Hill in Washington.

In addition, Michael MacLaren of Michigan was elected vice president and Greg Sherrill of the Tennessee Press was elected secretary.

Robin Rhodes of the Georgia Press Association was elected to the board of directors for a three-year term expiring 2015.  Holdover board members include Lisa Hills of Minnesota and Layne Bruce of Mississippi. Morley L. Piper, longtime NAM clerk, will continue in that role.

Follow by Email
Visit Us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *