Three University of Oregon School of Journalism Professors to Lead Associations

Follow by Email
Visit Us


Three University of Oregon School of Journalism and Communication faculty members have been named heads of leading academic associations in the same year.

Dr. Janet Wasko, professor and Knight chair in communication research, is the new president of the International Association for Media and Communication Research. Wasko, whose term as IAMCR president runs from July 2012 through July 2016, has been at the University of Oregon since 1986. In addition to research, her teaching areas include the political economy of media and media studies. Wasko is author, co-author or editor of 19 books.

Dr. Kim Sheehan, professor and director of the master’s program in strategic communication, is president-elect of the American Academy of Advertising. Sheehan joined the University of Oregon in 1998 and teaches courses in advertising and brand planning, media, research methodology and a graduate class in teaching and professional life. She also directs the strategic communication program and the SOJC undergraduate honors program. Her research involves consumers, culture and new technology, and she has published extensively about social media, online privacy, green advertising, advertising ethics, and direct-to-consumer prescription drug advertising. Sheehan serves as president-elect through the end of this year and begins her term as president of the on Jan. 1, 2013.

Dr. Kyu Youm, professor and Jonathan Marshall First Amendment chair, is president of the Association for Journalism and Mass Communication. Youm joined the School of Journalism and Communication in 2002 as the inaugural holder of the Jonathan Marshall First Amendment Chair. As a prolific communication law scholar, he has published a number of book chapters and research articles in a wide range of leading journalism and law journals.

“To have three UO SOJC faculty leading three major academic organizations in the same year highlights the school’s national and international leadership. Our faculty is deeply engaged in the research, teaching and service that are defining the future of journalism and communication,” said Tim Gleason, Edwin L. Artzt Dean of the School of Journalism and Communication. “The leadership of Kyu, Kim and Janet is one very special example of that involvement.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *