Columbia Announces Dart Center Ochberg Fellows

By: E&P Staff Ten journalists from around the world have been chosen as recipients of the 2009 Dart Center Ochberg Fellowships by The Dart Center for Journalism and Trauma at Columbia University's Graduate School of Journalism.

The fellows will attend a weeklong seminar and participate in the International Society for Traumatic Stress Studies' annual conference. Fellowships are awarded to mid-career journalists who have covered violent and traumatic issues, ranging from street crime, family violence and natural disasters to war and genocide.

Among the journalists honored with fellowships are Amy Dockser Marcus of The Wall Street Journal, who won the 2005 Pulitzer Prize for Beat Reporting for a series on physical, emotional and monetary challenges facing cancer survivors. She served as the Journal's Middle East correspondent from 1991 to 1998.

Also rewarded with fellowships were John McCusker -- a photographer for the Times-Picayune of New Orleans, who was part of the reporting team that won a 2006 Pulitzer Prize for its coverage of Hurricane Katrina.

Independent journalists Maryn McKenna, Jina Moore, and Philip Zabriskie also received fellowships for their writings about public health and health policy, human rights and post-conflict reporting, and the physical and psychological landscapes of post-conflict situations, according to the announcement from Columbia.

Rounding out the list of fellowships were Solange Azevedo of the Sao Paulo, Brazil magazine Revista Epoca; Peter Cave of the Australian Broadcasting Corporation; Huascar Robles Carrasquillo of Metro San Juan; Ronke Phillips of Great Britain's Independent Television (ITV); and Keri Lydersen of The Washington Post's Midwest Bureau.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here