NABJ Elects New President

By: E&P Staff Barbara Ciara has been elected president of the National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ).

Ciara was elected president at the NABJ's 32nd Annual Convention and Career Fair in Las Vegas on August 11. She will serve for a two-year term.

Ciara is currently the managing editor and primary anchor at WTKR NewsChannel 3 in Norfolk, Va.

Other appointments at the convention included:

-Vice President/Broadcast: Kathy Times, investigative reporter, WVTM-TV.

-Vice President/Print: Ernie Suggs, urban affairs reporter, The Atlanta Journal Constitution.

-Treasurer: Gregory Lee Jr., senior assistant sports editor, The Boston Globe.

-Secretary: Deidre Childress, weekend editor, The Philadelphia Inquirer.

-Parliamentarian: Tonju Francois, editorial producer, CNN en Espanol.

-Region 1 Director: Caleb Wilkerson, former producer, NFL Films (Conn., Maine, Mass., N.H., N.J., N.Y., Pa., R.I. and Vt.).

-Region 2 Director: Charles Robinson, III, correspondent/associate producer, Maryland Public Television (Del., D.C., Md., Va. and W.Va.).

-Region 4 Director: Leisa Richardson, assistant metro editor, The Indianapolis Star (N.D., S.D., Neb., Iowa, Ill., Ind., Ohio, Ky., Minn., Mich., Wis.).

-Region 5 Director: Bernadette Brown, planning editor, KRIV Fox 26 (Ark., Colo., La., Kan., Mo., N.M., Okla. and Texas).

-Region 6 Director: Bob Butler, reporter, KCBS Radio (Alaska, Ariz., Calif., Hawaii, Idaho, Mont., Nev., Ore., Utah, Wash. and Wyo.).

-Associate Representative: Aprill O. Turner, senior account executive, CooperKatz & Company Public Relations, N.Y.

-Student Representative: Christopher Nelson, communications major, Loyola College of Maryland.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here