National Press Club Honors Outstanding Journalism

By: E&P Staff The National Press Cllub announced its annual awards, with James Carroll, a journalist for the Louisville Courier-Journal, winning two awards for regional reporting. Wall Street Journal reporter, Brody Mullins, also garnered the prize for the best young political reporter for the second year in a row.

Pete Weitzel, former editor of the Miami Herald and founder of the National Freedom of Information Coalition, and the late Anna Politkovskaya of Novaya Gazeta, a Russian newspaper, won the John Aubuchon Freedom of the Press Award for their efforts in support of the public's right to know.

The Chicago Tribune won the top prize and an honorable mention in the environmental reporting category.

The full story can be found here.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here