Winners of Scripps' National Journalism Awards Announced

By: E&P Staff The Scripps Howard Foundation today announced the recipients of its annual National Journalism Awards for 2004. Following is a list of winners.

Investigative reporting: The Los Angeles Times for its look at the problem-ridden Martin Luther King Jr./Drew Medical Center.

Public-service reporting: The Hartford Courant for its coverage of ethical lapses by Connecticut Gov. John Rowland, who eventually resigned.

Editorial writing: Randy Bergmann of the Asbury Park Press in Neptune, N.J., primarily for the pieces he wrote about the corruption and arrogance of public officials.

Commentary: Connie Schultz of The Plain Dealer in Cleveland for being a writer who is "a voice of the underdog and a powerful voice for her readers."

Human-interest writing: Davan Maharaj of the Los Angeles Times for his "Living on Pennies" series about the hard lives of people in sub-Saharan Africa.

Web reporting: for coverage of how hometown gymnast Carly Patterson won an Olympic gold medal in Athens.

Environmental reporting: The Sun of San Bernardino, Calif., for its "Unnatural Disasters" story about "how arrogance and ignorance are jeopardizing lives in the foothills and mountains above San Bernardino."

Washington reporting: Greg Jaffe of The Wall Street Journal for stories that helped push the military to better equip troops in Iraq.

Editorial cartooning: Steve Sack of the Minneapolis Star Tribune and Tribune Media Services.

Distinguished service to the First Amendment: The Dallas Morning News for its "Let the Sun Shine" campaign to urge that Texas legislators record their votes.

Photojournalism: Jim Gehrz of the Minneapolis Star Tribune.

Business/economics reporting: The Wall Street Journal's Ellen Schultz and Theo Francis for showing that obscure accounting practices allow companies to improve their bottom lines at the expense of retirees? health-care benefits.

College cartooning: Nathaniel R. Creekmore of The Babbler at Lipscomb University in Nashville, Tenn., for his "Maintaining" comic. He won for the second consecutive year.

Journalism teacher of the year: Sandra Chance of the University of Florida.

Journalism administrator of the year: Will Norton Jr. of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

Cash awards totaling $195,000 will be presented April 15 during a dinner at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here