AP Reporter Wins National Press Foundation Award for Coverage of Congress

By: E&P Staff The winners of the National Press Foundation's 2009 Everett McKinley Dirksen Awards for Distinguished Coverage of Congress were announced on Tuesday. The winners of the award, which was created in honor of the late Illinois senator and is considered by some to be the premier award for Capitol Hill reporters, all reported extensively on the economic bailout packages.

Associated Press reporter Julie Hirschfeld Davis won the print Dirksen award, while the broadcast recognition went to CNN?s Brianna Keilar. Politico?s David Rogers, who won a Dirksen award in 1981, was awarded a Special Citation for his more than 30 years of Congressional coverage.

Davis and Keilar will each receive $5,000, and Rogers will receive $500. The awards will be presented officially at the National Press Foundation?s 27th annual awards dinner on Feb. 16, 2010.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here