AP, 'USA Today,' 'S.F. Chronicle' Reporters Win Awards from W.H. Press

By: (AP) Ron Fournier of The Associated Press and Susan Page of USA Today have won top awards for presidential coverage, the White House Correspondents' Association announced Thursday.

Fournier won the Merriman Smith Award for outstanding presidential coverage under deadline pressure for his stories on President Bush's victory over Democrat John Kerry.

After writing 67 leads over the course of a long election night, Fournier filed a bulletin quoting sources as saying that Kerry had called Bush to concede Ohio and thus the election. It is the fourth time Fournier has won the prize.

Page won the Aldo Beckman Award for journalistic excellence for stories on the presidency and the presidential campaign.

Mark Fainaru-Wada and Lance Williams of the San Francisco Chronicle won the Edgar A. Poe Award for a series of stories on athletes' use of steroids.

The winners will receive the awards at the association's annual dinner on April 30.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here