Ken Hackman, Mickey H. Osterreicher Honored With NPPA’s Sprague Award

By: National Press Photographers Association

The National Press Photographers Association’s most prestigious honor, the Joseph A. Sprague Memorial Award, will be presented this year to two individuals who have been fervent advocates of photojournalism and photojournalists, as well as being mentors and teachers who have exhibited decades of exceptional leadership capabilities.

The 2013 Joseph A. Sprague Memorial Award winners are Ken Hackman, known by many as “The Godfather” of military photojournalism and the longtime director of the Military Photographer of the Year program, and Mickey H. Osterreicher, NPPA’s general counsel who was a veteran newspaper and television photographer in Buffalo, NY, before he discovered his passion for protecting the legal rights of visual journalists.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here