New England Society of Newspaper Editors Awards Top Journos at Conference

By: E&P Staff The New England Society of Newspaper Editors honored several New England journalists during the society's annual conference at The Eagle-Tribune in North Andover, Mass.

The NESNE presented Patriot Ledger photographer Amy Kunhardt with the Master Photographer award, and The Boston Globe?s Brian MacQuarrie with the Master Reporter honor. Maureen Boyle from The Enterprise in Brockton, Mass., won the Community Reporting Award, while Kathy Cleveland, staff writer at the Cabinet in Milford, N.H., won the honor of Reporter of the Year for a non-daily. The award for non-daily Headline Writing went to Jerry Liptak at the Neighborhood News of Manchester, N.H.

The society also presented the University of Maine?s student newspaper, The Maine Campus, with its first ever college newspaper of the year honor. First runner-up was The Equinox, the student paper at Keane (N.H.) State College.

Editor Leah Lamsom of the Telegram & Gazette in Worcester, Mass., won the Judith Vance Weld Brown Spirit of Journalism Award, which recognizes outstanding women in journalism.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here