Pulitzer Prizes Announced; 'LAT,' 'WSJ' Each Win 2

By: E&P Staff The winners and finalists for this year's Pulitzer Prizes were announced this afternoon at Columbia University in New York. The Los Angeles Times won the public-service award, for its series on problems and a public hospital, and also the international-reporting award, for Kim Murphy's coverage of Russia.

The Wall Street Journal was the only other paper to nab more than one award, receiving the beat-reporting award, for Amy Dockser Marcus' stories on cancer survivors, and the criticism award, for Joe Morgenstern's film reviews.

The Willamette Week, an alternative weekly in Portland, Ore., won the investigative-reporting prize, becoming only the fifth non-daily to win a Pulitzer.

Here are the newspaper winners:

Public Service

Winner: Los Angeles Times, for inner-city hospital investigation

Finalists: Pensacola (Fla.) News Journal, for hurricane coverage; The Orange County (Calif.) Register, for investigation on lead in candy

Breaking News Reporting

Winner: The Star-Ledger (Newark, N.J.), for coverage of Gov. Jim McGreevey's resignation

Finalists: Charlotte (Fla.) Sun, for hurricane coverage; South Florida Sun-Sentinel (Fort Lauderdale), for hurricane coverage

Investigative Reporting

Winner: Willamette (Ore.) Week, Nigel Jaquiss, for investigating Gov. Neil Goldschmidt's sex scandal

Finalists: The Des Moines (Iowa) Register, Clark Kaufman, for an investigation into a law-enforcement scandal; The New York Times, Diana B. Henriques, for an investigation of insurance and investment scams targeting servicemen

Explanatory Reporting

Winner: The Boston Globe, Gareth Cook, for an examination of the ethics of stem-cell research

Finalists: Newsday (Melville, N.Y.), staff, for the history of hip-hop; The New York Times, William Broad and David E. Sanger, for stories on proliferation issues

Beat Reporting

Winner: The Wall Street Journal, Amy Dockser Morris, for coverage of cancer survivors

Finalists: Los Angeles Times, Ron Brownstein, for coverage of the 2004 campaign; The Washington Post, Dana Priest, for coverage of U.S. intelligence

National Reporting

Winner: The New York Times, Walt Bogdanich, for coverage of deadly railroad crossings

Finalists: The Washington Post, staff, for coverage of the Abu Ghraib revelations; The Oregonian (Portland), Steve Suo and Erin Hoover Barnett, for stories on crystal meth

International Reporting

Winners: Los Angeles Times, Kim Murphy, for Russian coverage; Newsday, Dele Olojede, for Rwanda coverage

Finalist: The Star-Ledger (Newark, N.J.), Borzou Daragahi, for Iraq coverage

Feature Writing

Winner: Chicago Tribune, Julia Keller, for post-tornado coverage

Finalists: The Star Ledget (Newark, N.J.), Robin Gaby Fisher, for "Last Chance High"; The Washington Post, Anne Hull, for "Young and Gay in Real America"


Winner: The Plain Dealer (Cleveland), Connie Schultz

Finalists: The New York Times, Nicholas Kristof; The Charlotte (N.C.) Observer, Tommy Tomlinson


Winner: The Wall Street Journal, Joseph Morgenstern

Finalists: The Chronicle of Higher Education, Carlin Romano; The New York Times, Frank Rich

Editorial Writing

Winner: The Sacramento Bee, Tom Philp

Finalists: San Jose Mercury News, Daniel Vasquez and David Yarnold; The Washington Post, Sebastian Mallaby

Editorial Cartooning

Winner: The Courier-Journal (Louisville, Ky.), Nick Anderson

Finalists: The Palm Beach Post, Don Wright; "Doonesbury," Garry Trudeau

Breaking News Photography

Winner: The Associated Press, Staff, for Iraq photography

Finalists: Reuters, Arko Datta, for tsunami photos ; The Palm Beach Post, staff, for hurricane photos

Feature Photography

Winner: San Francisco Chronicle, Deanne Fitzmaurice

Finalists: Los Angeles Times, Luis Sinco; The Star Tribune (Minneapolis), Jim Gehrz

Also, a book prize in the category of general nonfiction went to Steve Coll, the former managing editor of The Washington Post, for his Ghost Wars: The Secret History of the CIA, Afghanistan, and Bin Laden, from the Soviet Invasion to September 10, 2001."


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here