Seven elected to AP board p. 15

By: Editorial Staff Curley, Brown win seats along with five incumbents;
Frank Daniels Jr. is re-elected board chairman
JUDITH BROWN, CHAIRMAN and editor/publisher of the Herald, New Britain, Conn., and John Curley, chairman and president/CEO of Gannett Co. Inc., were elected to the Associated Press' board of directors.
Five incumbents also were re-elected at the AP's annual meeting in San Francisco April 25.
They were Robert Hartmann, chairman and publisher of the Evansville (Ind.) Press; Gregg Jones, co-publisher of the Greeneville (Tenn.) Sun; Donald Newhouse, president of Advance Publications Inc. and the Star-Ledger, Newark; Mary Schurz, editor and publisher of the Advocate-Messenger and Kentucky Advocate, Danville; and George Wilson, president of the Concord (N.H.) Monitor.
The directors were elected to three-year terms from among 12 nominees. Voting was based on membership bonds held by the newspapers that make up the news cooperative.
The results: Curley, 17,377 bond votes; Newhouse, 17,376; Wilson, 16,795; Schurz, 14,192; Hartmann, 10,290; Brown, 9,655.
Other nominees and their vote totals were Frank Blethen, publisher and CEO of the Seattle Times, 9,333; Louis Weil III, publisher and CEO of the Arizona Republic and Phoenix Gazette, 7,216; Robert Danzig, vice president and general manager of Hearst Corp., 4,434; and George Riggs, publisher and CEO of Lesher Communications Inc., Walnut Creek, Calif., 2,360.
In the separate contest for a director to represent a city with less than 50,000 population, Jones received 16,810 votes compared with 4,148 for R. Victor Dix, publisher of the Daily Record, Wooster, Ohio.
Frank Daniels Jr., president and publisher of News and Observer Co., Raleigh, was re-elected board chair-man at the reorganization meeting.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here

Scroll the Latest Job Opportunities From The Media Job Board