The University of Texas at Austin's Moody College of Communication Celebrates 100th Anniversary

By: Press Release | Moody College of Communications

One of the country's finest journalism schools will celebrate its 100th anniversary with a series of public events in 2014. 

The School of Journalism at The University of Texas at Austin's Moody College of Communication – whose former students and faculty have won 30 Pulitzer Prizes and whose distinguished alumni include Walter Cronkite, Lady Bird Johnson, Bill Moyers, Liz Carpenter, Liz Smith and Berke Breathed – will kick off a year of events on Jan. 13, the first day of classes, with a noon gathering at the at the Walter Cronkite Plaza, CMA 3.000, Whitis Ave., between Dean Keeton St. and 25th St. 

Guest speakers will include UT President Bill Powers, Moody College Dean Roderick P. Hart and state Sen. Judith Zaffirini (M.S. Communication Studies, 1970), who will present a proclamation honoring the School's centennial anniversary. 

There will be events and guest speakers throughout the year, culminating on Sept. 25 with a special appearance by Watergate journalist and best-selling author Bob Woodward and a reception for the school's Pulitzer winners.

Since beginning in 1914, the School of Journalism has trained more than 12,000 journalists in top-ranked undergraduate and graduate programs, and was selected as one of 12 journalism schools to participate in the Carnegie-Knight Initiative on the Future of Journalism Education. In 2012, the School introduced a new digital-based undergraduate curriculum and moved into the state-of-the-art, 120,000-square-foot Belo Center for New Media. 

Contacts: Laura Byerley, (512) 471-2182; Glenn Frankel, (512) 471-1845.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here