Winners in 10th Annual 'E&P' Photos of the Year Contest Named: 'Denver Post' Entry Takes Top Prize

By: E&P Staff A panel of distinguished judges has awarded The Denver Post team of Craig F. Walker, Meghan Lyden, and Tim Rasmussen the grand prize in E&P's 2009 Photos of the Year competition.

The winning entry, ?Ian Fisher: American Soldier,? chronicled with extraordinary photographs, videos, and print -- over the course of 27 months -- the recruitment, induction, training, deployment to Iraq, and return from combat of Ian Fisher. This was the first year that video/multimedia entries were judged.

Twenty-four other winners in six categories (spanning four circulation groups), including in first-time Portraits and Video/Multimedia categories, were honored. This year also was the first time E&P recognized one winner in the Unpublished Photo on Assignment category and in the extremely popular People?s Choice award competition. Ten People?s Choice photo and six video/multimedia honorable mentions were recognized this year.

Walker took the Denver Post pictures and shot the video. Tim Rasmussen, the paper's assistant managing editor/ photography, and Lyden, the online photo editor, edited and managed the multimedia offerings.

A gallery of select winning photos appears in E&P?s November issue. All photos, including those from the multiple image category, and an audio interview with Tim Rasmussen of The Denver Post will be available Tuesday morning at

Newspaper print photos, online news photos, and video/multimedia published since Sept. 13, 2008 were eligible for award consideration. Photos selected as E&P?s Photos of the Week or Photos of the Month between Sept. 13, 2008, and Sept. 13, 2009, were automatically entered.

?Despite budget cuts at most newspapers, the number and quality of entries this year remained strong,? said Greg Mitchell, E&P?s editor. ?This was a year of firsts for this competition, including exciting new categories and a video/multimedia submission winning top honors. This also was the first time final winners were selected by photo editors from major newspapers and magazines.

"E&P would like to thank Colin Crawford, deputy managing editor/visuals, Los Angeles Times; Santiago Lyon, director of photography, The Associated Press; Alan Taylor, Web developer and blogger, The Boston Globe/Big Picture; and Amber Terranova, photo editor, from Nielsen sister publication Photo District News.?

As the grand prize winners, Walker, Lyden, and Rasmussen receive $1,000, with a sample of their winning submission appearing on the November 2009 cover of E&P.

Rasmussen told E&P that, in addition to his photos and video, Walker?s extensive written notes were ?absolutely essential? in providing details and fleshing out the multi-part print series.

The 2009 Photos of the Year Winners:

Grand Prize

Craig F. Walker, Meghan Lyden, and Tim Rasmussen, The Denver Post

News (Spot/General)

More than 250,000: David Guttenfelder, The Associated Press, Camp Restrepo, Afghanistan

100,000 -249,999: Mary Chind, The Des Moines (Iowa) Register

25,000 - 99,999: Kelly J. Huff, Decatur Herald & Review, Springfield, Ill.

Less than 25,000: Tom Kelly IV, Daily Local News, West Chester, Pa.


More than 250,000: Julie Jacobson, The Associated Press, Sarab, Afghanistan

100,000 -249,999: Ryan Jackson, Edmonton Journal, Smoky Lake, Alberta, Canada

25,000 - 99,999: Dustin Safranek, Watertown (N.Y.) Daily Times

Less than 25,000: Matt Stamey, The Houma (La.) Courier


More than 250,000: Srdjan Suki, European Pressphoto Agency, Rome

100,000 -249,999: Chris Aluka Berry, The State, Columbia, S.C.

25,000 - 99,999: Dale Gerhard, The Press of Atlantic City, Ocean City, N.J.

Less than 25,000: Drew Angerer, Sandusky (Ohio) Register


More than 250,000: Tony Karumba, Agence France-Presse, Mwanza, Tanzania

100,000 -249,999: Rick McFarland, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, Little Rock, Ark.

25,000 - 99,999: Stephanie Bruce, The Fayetteville (N.C.) Observer

Less than 25,000: Ron Siddle, Antelope Valley Press, Palmdale, Calif.

Multiple Images/Photo Essay

More than 250,000: Emilio Morenatti, The Associated Press

100,000 -249,999: Leila Navidi, Las Vegas Sun

25,000 - 99,999: Katie Falkenberg, The Washington Times, Washington, D.C.

Less than 25,000: Bill Coates, Arizona Capitol Times, Phoenix, Ariz.


More than 250,000: Ayperi Karabuda Ecer and Jassim Ahmad, Reuters, in association with MediaStorm

100,000 -249,999: Elizabeth Conley, The Detroit News

25,000 - 99,999: Sean Simmers, The Patriot-News, Harrisburg, Pa.

Less than 25,000: Mark R. Brown, Santa Maria (Calif.) Times

Unpublished Photo on Assignment

David Goldman for The New York Times

People?s Choice

Judy DeHaas, The Denver Post

Honorable Mentions: People?s Choice

Kelly J. Huff, Decatur Herald & Review, Springfield, Ill.

Barbara J. Perenic, Springfield (Ohio) News-Sun

Darryl Dyck, The Canadian Press, Toronto

Thomas Boyd, The Oregonian, Portland, Ore.

Pam Roberts, The Ely (Minn.) Echo

Jimmy May, Bloomsburg (Pa.) Press-Enterprise

Bill Tremblay, The Independent, Durham, N.C.

Jonathan Yu, The Bi-College News, Haverford, Pa.

Don Denton, Victoria News, B.C., Canada

Honorable Mentions: Video/Multimedia

Maya Alleruzzo, Rick Bowmer, and Evan Vucci, The Associated Press

Ann Silvio, Tito Bottitta, Bill Greene, and Scott LaPierre, The Boston Globe

Sonya N. Hebert, Ahna Hubnik, and Brad Loper, The Dallas Morning News

Peter Huoppi, The Day, New London, Conn.

Ryan Jackson, Edmonton Journal, Smoky Lake, Alberta, Canada

Carol Guzy, The Washington Post


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here